Speech of Explanation

Commentary:

With this speech, I had to face some adversity because my laptop was lost with all of my luggage while on vacation. I had to completely redo all of my work in a very short span of time. This, I believe, led to my speech and work to not be as fleshed out as I wanted it to be. It had some flow issues and the PowerPoint slides were not as detailed and refined as I wanted them to be. I could have done a better job at fleshing out my topic in retrospect. Overall I thought it was a solid presentation, but it could have been much better.

Outline:

Introduction:

The memory is burned deeply into my mind, we were having a party in my friend’s apartment when a lovely redheaded girl asked me if I wanted to go to an exclusive party. I said yes of course as she quickly led me through the dilapidated apartment complex to a line of people waiting to get into a club. I glanced over my shoulder and saw my good friend Mike Lahey. Except it didn’t exactly look like Mike Lahey. It was his body, with a spider’s head and spider legs jutting from his back. Before I can react he pins me to the floor and erupts spider goo all over me. I run as fast as my legs can push me. Then I wake up, sweating and dry heaving. I’ve just had another dream. According to the survey, a good majority of you shares the ability to remember your dreams, same as me. Dreaming is an experience all humans share. We all dream, whether we recall them or not. Psychotherapist and Harvard graduate Jeffery Sumber states that it is biologically the case that we all dream at some point during our sleep. To help you better understand these nightly occurrences, I would like to explain the intricacies of dreaming, which include how we dream, what is a dream, and why we dream.

I. How we dream

REM Sleep, or the Rapid Eye Movement stage is where dreaming occurs. (show clip #1)

REM Sleep occupies 20-25% of total sleep, which is about 90-120 Minutes

Characterized by rapid eye movement, low muscle tone, and rapid low-voltage EEG (Electroencephalography).

Dr. Helene A. Emsellem, Director for The Center for Sleep & Wake Disorders says: “Restoration of our psyches takes place during sleep, particularly REM, allowing us to awaken in a good mood, with creative ideas, novel solutions to problems and ready to take on the challenges of the new day.”

Many of you correctly discerned that dreaming occurs during REM sleep in the survey

II. What is a dream?

Dr. Arnold Richards, editor of the Journal of the American Psychoanalytic Association has said: “Modern psychoanalytic thought now holds that dreams are just one of several roads to the unconscious.”

A dream is a sensory experience that occurs inside the brain during REM sleep.

Most people inside a dream continue to function with similar sensory and motor skills.

For those who acknowledge their state of dreaming, known as lucid dreaming, a dream plays out like a first person movie. An even smaller crowd can directly control what happens inside their dream.

Combined short examples: Ambrose students have weighed in with their own dream experiences. Nick Erwin had a recurring dream of approaching the same terrifying house where a group of vampires would chase him and awake as he escaped down a large slide. Ross Delfino had a dream where he floated through space in a spacesuit while eating a cheeseburger. And Nathan Ackert had a dream in which him and all of his friends were locked in his dorm room during Last Blast and could not escape. (Show clip 2)

III. Why we dream.

Dr. Angel Morgan of Saybrook University states: “It’s easy to see during sleep studies that people do dream, but it’s much more difficult for researchers to agree on why.”

There are many theories on dreaming

It may be to process all of the excess sensory information taken in during the day

Possibly the transfer of short-term memories to long-term memories during sleep, which requires mild brain activation, where our subconscious fills in to make sense of what is discarded

The possibility that dreams are the brain trying to discern between long-term memories and daydreams.

 

Conclusion:

Dreams are still one of the great mysteries of science. Even in the 21st century, there isn’t very much concrete information on dreams. With breakthroughs in neuroscientific research, researchers are getting ever closer to unlocking the secrets of the dream world. But until then, Dream on.

Slide1

Slide2

Slide3

Slide5

Slide7

Leave a Reply

